Role-based access control (RBAC) allows you to configure the level of access each user has to a Redis Enterprise cluster’s admin console, REST API, and databases. To grant permissions, assign predefined or custom roles to a user. You can create a role once and then deploy it across multiple databases in the cluster.

Role types

Assign a role, which grants specific cluster and database permissions, to multiple users.

There are two types of roles:

Access control screen

There are three tabs on the access control screen:

  • redis ACLs - Define named permissions for specific Redis commands, keys, and pub/sub channels. You can use defined Redis ACLs for multiple databases and roles.

  • roles - Create roles. Each role consists of a set of permissions (Redis ACLs) for one or more Redis databases. You can reuse these roles for multiple users.

  • users - Create users and assign a role to each user to grant access to the admin console, REST API, or databases.

Active-Active databases

Users, roles, and Redis ACLs are cluster-level entities, which means:

  • They apply to the local participating cluster and Active-Active database instance.

  • They do not replicate or propagate to the other participating clusters and instances.

  • ACLs are enforced according to the instance connected to the client. The Active-Active replication mechanism propagates all the effects of the operation.

More info